I know it’s been awhile

October 27, 2011 Jordana

We reenter this blogosphere to relate a few cute kid stories–I know!–and promise with a minimum of credibility to try and update more often.

Rhiannon (who is suddenly almost two and a half, running, jumping, climbing, and [maybe] [hopefully] potty-training) really, really loves her blanket. She calls it her geekie, and carries it almost everywhere with her. Fortunately, when she imprinted on the geekie, I had the presence of mind to cut it in half, so we have two geekies. Thank goodness.

It was a dark and stormy morning a couple of days ago, when we dropped the Husbandlet off at work. Right after he got out of the car, Rhiannon started crying frantically for her geekie. I looked back, didn’t see it, and figured we had probably forgotten it at home. How wrong I was.

When we got home, I looked all over the house for the geekie with an anxious little girl at my heels. I eventually broke out the emergency backup geekie. But it wasn’t until some time later that the awful truth hit me. The geekie must have fallen out when the Husbandlet was getting his bag out of the car.

I called the Husbandlet at work, and it was true. The Husbandlet braved the wind and rain to retrieve a rather battered geekie from underneath a car in the parking lot. He was also able to report that the geekie is extraordinarily absorbent.

* * *

in other geekie news, Rhiannon climbed out of her crib for the first time last night. (Her siblings were climbing out of cribs at 18 months.) When we checked on her before we went to bed, the Husbandlet noticed that 1) she was not in her crib, and 2) she was curled up on a blanket next to said crib, fast asleep.

When I asked her about it this morning, she said, “I climbed out of my bed and I snuggled up with my blanket and my geekie and I went to sleep.” I asked, “Why did you climb out of bed?” She said, “I crying. Geekie.”

From which we can interpret, the geekie fell out of her crib. Crying ensued. No parents appeared. So Rhiannon resorted to drastic measures. But her goal achieved, she did not engage in mischief. Instead, she put herself to sleep on the item most closely resembling her bed.

And that’s pretty much Rhiannon for you.

* * *

Liam has a stuffed penguin, Pengie. I think Pengie was originally a part of a gift to Ngaire, but Ngaire has never really been into stuffed animals, while Liam fell in love with Pengie right away and has been sleeping with it for the past year.

Today, Ngaire remembered the original gift distribution and decided that Pengie was really hers. She kept sneaking into Liam’s room and trying to appropriate the penguin. We had a bit of an Issue with Ngaire–with Liam a slightly anxious observer–over this.

While the Husbandlet and I were trying to deal with Ngaire’s Issues, Liam came into her room with Pengie. He handed it to her and said, “Here, Ngaire, you can have Pengie.”

He was much praised.

Later, I was talking to him about what a kind thing he had done, and he said, “Ngaire wanted Pengie, but I took him back in my room so he could say goodbye to Little Kitty [his other sleeping buddy] and I could give him one last hug. Then I gave him to Ngaire, because she loves him and I don’t need him anymore.”

There are moments when I’m really amazed by this little guy.

(Due to her general attitude and behavior, Ngaire didn’t get to keep Pengie tonight. But I’m very proud of my son, who wanted to make his sister happy.)

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Loren Eaton&hellip  | 

    My little one has never crawled out of the crib. A head-first-landing after the first escape from the pack and play scotched that.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

